Despicable Me 2

Director: Pierre Coffin & Chris Renaud

Nominated: Best Animated Feature; Best Original Song

Those of you who have been following my mutterings on the films nominated for the Oscars this year may have guessed that I kind of love Despicable Me 2 as I have mentioned it once or twice before.

While the core characters of Gru and his girls are brilliant – with Agnes being downright adorable – it is the minions who make this film for me. They are genius!! And side-splitting, laugh out loud funny as they get up to all sorts of hilarious misadventures. The new characters provide new opportunities for gags which keeps the comedy fresh (with Silas Ramsbottom being the butt of most of the memorable jokes) while the continuance of Gru’s little family maintain the familiarity from the first film. There is a sense of ridiculousness that only really works because the film is animated. 

It really is a family film too – the youngest person in my family is 21 and we have 3 copies of it at home. My mum loves the film – she was quite put out that it didn’t win the BAFTA last night – and even my dad has been known to chuckle at the minion’s antics which is astounding if you know my dad (he is so not the fluffy, family film kind of man)

The song “Happy” does exactly what it says – it makes you happy! It’s one of those songs that you can’t help but dance to as I discovered recently when I embarrassed myself by dancing in the shopping centre last week upon hearing a snippet of it.

I think that Frozen (Chris Buck & Jennifer Lee) will probably come away victorious in both of the categories the films are nominated in (especially if you take the BAFTAs as a sign of what’s to come at the Oscars) as Disney often does well but I would love it if Despicable Me 2 pulled it out of the bag instead – I know my mum certainly wants it to win! Purple Minions Despicable Me 2

Leave a Reply

