Apologies …

Hey guys,

Huge apologies for the severe downturn in the regularity of my posts. Real life kind of got in the way with the focus having to shift onto finding a real job (still no luck sadly). I do have the next 8 of so blog entries ready and raring to go which I will hopefully get round to posting in the next few days. At the moment I’m having some serious writer’s block concerning Brazil – I’ve watched that film a number of times now and just cannot get my thoughts down on paper properly (because yes I do still write everything down on paper first!) which is seriously irritating me and putting a bit of a halt on the films I can watch.

Despite real life butting in I have not been completely out of the film world thankfully (my sanity would suffer if I was!) I have of course seen Thor: The Dark World (Alan Taylor) and The Hunger Games: Catching Fire (Francis Lawrence) as I am kind of obsessed with each of those franchises … I mean who isn’t head over heels in love with both Jennifer Lawrence and Tom Hiddleston?! I’ve been playing with Future Cinema again recently – Ghostbusters this time. And let me tell you they have taken a great movie and upped the enjoyment level by recreating the world the movie is set in and allowing everyone to play in it – complete with a 40 ft Stay Puft Marshmallow Man! Seriously all you film lovers out there (well UK-based definitely) if you get the chance to go to any of their events it is so very much worth it. I’ve done a number of the events now, with both Future Cinema and Secret Cinema and have loved every single minute of them. Sign up to their mailing lists (http://www.futurecinema.co.uk/ http://www.secretcinema.org/) for a truly immersive cinematic experience … one of the best ways to watch films going!!

Ok enough plugging done. What else have I been up to? Well I was lucky enough to win tickets to the Worldwide Fan Event for the Hobbit held on the 4th November 2013! I entered a competition on a whim the morning of the event never expecting to win because let’s face it I have the worst luck and never win anything. But lo and behold within like 3 hours I was getting a call from a very nice lady from Air New Zealand telling me I had won two tickets to the event. Colour me speechless. I took my mum as it’s thanks to her that I even know about Middle Earth let alone love it. She has been reading the books for 41 years!! To say I am a fan of Peter Jackson and his adventures in Middle Earth is somewhat of an understatement so I was kind of beside myself. Thankfully my mum was equally as excited – actually spazzing out which I don’t think I have ever seen her do before! We arrived in Leicester Square at 9pm  (the event wasn’t starting until 10!) and got to bypass the enormous queue of people waiting in the cold to be let into the cinema. The Hobbit Worldwide Fan EventMummy Doull and I, along with the other 2 winners from Air New Zealand were the first people allowed in which was very exciting as there was a red carpet and everything. Once inside the cinema there were a couple of the costumes on display, Bilbo’s, Gandalf’s and a dwarfs costume (I want to say it’s Dwalin’s). And then eventually we were allowed into the screen where we discovered a goody bag on every seat. Mum and I managed to get a pretty good seat on the aisle 3 rows in. What’s in the goody bag I hear you ask? Well we got the usual cinema fare of popcorn, a bag of sweets and a drink along with a massive cup and bucket, both with the Hobbit plastered all over them, as well as a copy of the latest issue of Empire magazine – with its Hobbit cover obviously! But the best things were a beautiful poster for The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug and a t-shirt marking the event.

What was the actual event about and what happened at it? Well the event was promotional, both for the new film coming out in less than a week now, and the extended version of The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey being released on DVD. So the event consisted of a live Q&A session being linked in four cities around the world, each of which had at least one cast member present in the host cinema, which was also being streamed live on the Internet worldwide. The four cities were Los Angeles, with Evangeline Lilly (Tauriel); New York hosting Orlando Bloom (Legolas) and Richard Armitage (Thorin); London with Luke Evans (Bard), Lee Pace (Thranduil) and Andy Serkis (Gollum); and of course Wellington which had Jed Brophy (Nori) and the main man himself Peter Jackson. We had the Q&A which was interesting due to the delays between the link ups and gave some really good moments. We were also treated to a clip from the new extended cut of The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey and the latest production blog which as usual was hilarious!

And then it got really exciting … but only in the 4 cinemas as it was at this point we said goodbye to the live stream and everyone watching. Everyone was instructed to turn off all phones and anything with recording capabilities – anyone seen using one would result in the next part being stopped immediately. We were then treated to the music video for the end credit song, written and performed beautifully by the very talented Ed Sheeran. It’s called I See Fire and is attached to this blog as it’s now been released. I absolutely love the song and think it fits perfectly with the tone of Jackson’s Middle Earth.

After the video which was exciting enough we got a bit of a talk from Peter Jackson telling us how Warner Bros asked him to prepare some material to show at this event, about 6 minutes long or so. The shots were fully dependent on which ones were actually already completed but Jackson couldn’t decide so we ended up with something that was 20 minutes long! Now I’m not going to spoil any of the film for you by telling you what I saw in those 20 minutes but let me tell you the film is going to blow you all away and Benedict Cumberbatch as Smaug – WOW just wow!! It is going to be epic! I was so impressed and geeking out big time then remembered we still had just over a month to wait before we could see the whole thing. Seriously the whole evening was one of the best nights of my life and I’m so glad I got to share it with the one person who loves Middle Earth as much as I do, my mummy.

Wow this post has gone on for a lot longer than I intended it to – I kind of ran away with my thoughts. So for now I will leave you, not for so long this time I promise, until my next film post. Oh and I am now working from the new revised 2013 copy of 1001 Movies You Must See Before You Die.

Peace and love guys xxx

 

Leave a Reply

