Ted

Director: Seth MacFarlane

Nominated: Best Original Song

First of all Ted is a completely ridiculous concept and one that I was aware of throughout the entire film. As hard as I tried I wasn’t able to completely suspend my disbelief. However I did enjoy Ted, mainly because of Mark Wahlberg it has to said.

Ted is such a cute teddy bear despite the absolutely foul mouth he has on him. And his relationship with John is actually pretty tender. I was surprising moved by the unfortunate accident Ted suffers. The animation of Ted is top-notch and entirely believable.

The supporting characters all seem to be exaggerated crazies in one way or another … the boss routinely sexually harassing Lori; the white-trash girlfriend; and of course the crazy stalker and his creepy child. And then there are the (awesome) cameos by Norah Jones, Tom Skerritt, Ted Danson, and my personal favourite Ryan Reynolds as Gary’s partner. The biggest cameo is obviously that of Flash Gordon himself, Sam J Jones, who quite happily mocks the very role that mad him famous. Patrick Stewart narrates, lending his extraordinary voice, albeit to fairly coarse lines.

I’m not a fan of Seth MacFarlane and never have been. I just don’t get the appeal of Family Guy (Seth MacFarlane, 1999 -). It’s not the sort of humor I enjoy. I don’t think you have to be coarse, crude and sometimes downright vulgar in order to be funny and get laughs, which is sadly the opposite of MacFarlane clearly. It also seems to be a trend throughout Hollywood these days, which says nothing positive about the viewing audience. Seriously guys we are smart enough to get jokes above and beyond the lowest form of humor!

And in terms of its Oscar nomination I did not hear an original song besides the Thunder song and that is so not worthy of a nomination. But then the Academy has made some dodgy choices in the past … not only did they nominate “It’s hard out here for a pimp” in 2005 but it only went and won the Oscar! But the beautiful lament from The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (2012, Peter Jackson) didn’t even garner a nomination! Ok rant over … And also this installment of my blog as I no more to say about Ted.

Ted Seth MacFarlane Mark Wahlberg Mila Kunis

Leave a Reply

