Wreck-It Ralph

Director: Rich Moore

Nominated: Best Animated Feature Film

After having scared the absolute bejesus out of myself watching The Woman In Black (James Watkins, 2012) over the weekend (Daniel Radcliffe is truly outstanding on a side note!) I decided to watch Wreck-It Ralph in an attempt to calm myself down. And I’m pleased to say it worked.

Wreck-it RalphThis seems to be one of the most hotly anticipated movies of 2012 but I didn’t really know what to expect from it. I was never really into computer games when I was younger and we didn’t have the same type of arcade culture over here in England so it didn’t resonate with me. As such many of the little things added for fans kind of passed me by.

The animation is pretty good and combines all of the unique styles of many of the worlds most recognized computer games, including Mario, Street Fighter, Sonic, Pac-man and of course Fix It Felix. The soundtrack is clever, utilizing all the in-game sounds.It takes the same sort of premise as Toy Story (John Lasseter, 1995) in that it takes us into the lives of characters once the humans leave, in this case once the arcade shuts down for the night.

Ralph is an endearing character well voiced by John C. Reilly. The relationship he forms with Vanellope (Sarah Silverman) while on his quest to win a medal and become a hero, is one of surprising tenderness. The side story of the blossoming romance between Felix Jr (Jack McBrayer) and the somewhat emotionally damaged Calhoun (excellently voiced by Jane Lynch!) provides the expected romantic element. Alan Tudyk once again excels at playing the deranged villain of the piece – King Candy.

It was an entertaining movie although not a particularly funny one which for some reason is what everyone seems to equate animated films to be. And I did enjoy it despite I suspect many of the elements passing me by. However I still think Brave is much better, and I can’t really see that changing as I watch the other films nominated in this category.

3 thoughts on “Wreck-It Ralph

  1. Rob says:

    It’s strange how Brave felt like a Disney film and how Wreck-It Ralph felt like a Pixar film.

  2. Bette says:

    I loved Alan Tudyk’s voice and all things King Candy! Brave seemed to have a very scary piece in it that just felt overly scary for the rest of the movie. Didn’t like it and neither did my 5 y.o. grandson nor my 4 y.o. niece (each saw it separately. Side issue: What do you think of 2 of my favorite Alan Tudyk movies – ‘Death at a Funeral’ (the original English version) and ‘Tucker & Dale vs Evil’?

    • lizzybuffy says:

      He is one of my favorite actors. I just recently watched Tucker and Dale vs Evil and thought he was hilarious! And I love him in Death at a Funeral. But by far my favorite Tudyk characters are Wash from Firefly and Serenity and Alpha in Dollhouse – he is so psychotic as Alpha it makes a nice change from the comedy he usually does.

Leave a Reply

