Oscars Nominations 2013

Oscars 2013Well it’s that time again. How quickly the year has passed. The award season is well under way and today was the day the nominations for the most coveted of awards were announced. Of course I am talking about the Academy Awards, the Oscars.

I’ve had an appealing year in terms of managing to get to the cinema to see, well just about anything, this year (one of the downsides of being unemployed is while I have the time to spend en-cloistered in a cinema I regrettably do not have the funds!) As such I have only managed to see 3 films on the nominations list – Snow White and the Huntsman (Rupert Sanders), Mirror Mirror: The Untold Adventures of Snow White (Tarsem Singh) and The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (Peter Jackson) Of course I’ve seen The Hobbit as its been my most anticipated film of the year (that and Avengers Assemble, Joss Whedon) and no self-respecting Tolkien geek would turn down the chance to see the latest installment of Middle Earth brought to life.

So prepare yourself dear readers for another slew of blogs concerning the nominations for this years Oscars. Having done last years I am planning on being a bit more organized in my presentation, each film will get its own blog … more in keeping with the way I post all my 1001 Movies You Must See Before You Die entries, rather than grouping them all together. Do you reckon I can get through all of them before the big event on the 24th February?! I’ll give it a damn good go.

Leave a Reply

